Go to GoReading for breaking news, videos, and the latest top stories in world news, business, politics, health and pop culture.

How to Avoid Wheat & Corn in Foods

104 1

    Reading Food Labels

    • 1). Learn to read food labels and write a list of other words used to describe wheat and corn that you can take shopping. Common terms used for wheat products include: edible starch, enriched flour, durum, kamut, semolina, udon, cereal protein, gum base, farina, manna, rusk and spelt. Corn can be listed as maize, maize starch, cornflour and amylophagia. High-fructose corn syrup is used in many processed sweet foods such as desserts, syrups, cookies and sodas.

    • 2). Look for products that are labeled "gluten free." However, it is unusual to find products labeled "corn free." Gluten is one of the main ingredients in wheat so many products labeled as gluten free also do not contain wheat. Gluten-free pasta is often made from either rice or corn. Rice noodles can be a good alternative. Buckwheat is fine as it actually derives from the rhubarb family.

    • 3). Avoid any product that contains the words bran, cereal or cracker. Most of these contain wheat unless stated otherwise. Substitute with rice bran, rice-based cereals or rice crackers. Avoid any products that are labeled as "corn fed." The most common is chicken. Organic grass-fed is a good alternative.

    • 4
      Watch for high-fructose corn syrup in sweeteners.pancake 1 image by aline caldwell from Fotolia.com

      Watch out for added flavorings, additives, sweeteners and preservatives. These are often listed as malt, caramel or chocolate and vanilla flavorings, starch or vegetable starch, high fructose corn syrup, modified food starch, MSG, miso or hydrolysates. Soy sauce often contains wheat as well. Look for wheat-free versions, or use tamari instead.

    • 5). Stay away from common foods that may contain wheat. These include breakfast cereals, beers, cakes, cookies, doughnuts, noodles, pretzels, pasta, processed foods, processed meats, salad dressings, soups, sauces, tomato ketchup and Worcestershire sauce.

    • 6). Avoid common foods that may contain corn, which include breakfast cereals, cookies, chicken, cream, condiments, certain dairy products, doughnuts, instant coffees, margarine, orange juice, processed meats, peanut butter, pork products, salad dressings, tomato ketchup and tuna fish. High-fructose corn syrup can also be labeled as maltodextrin, isoglucose, glucose-fructose syrup or maize syrup.

Source...

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.